Photo by Alfonso Scarpa on Unsplash

Be Bad If You Want To Be Good

It’s okay to be awful

Will Bowles
2 min readMar 6, 2021

--

I didn’t publish a blog because I thought it was bad. I was afraid someone would say this is awful. So I didn’t publish it because my fragile ego couldn’t handle anyone telling me my writing or idea was bad.

I learned something by questioning my reasoning for not publishing.

And there are two truths I want to share.

You’re the only person thinking your ideas and content is bad. You’re the only person placing expectations on work, which is good, but be easy on yourself if you’re just starting.

Because the only way to get good at something is to be bad in the beginning. And being bad is the best thing ever because nobody is looking for your content. If they find it’s a happy accident.

If this is year one or two of you creating content online then you’re just starting. The people who you think are good have been creating content for 5 or 10 years. They were bad in the beginning just like you. But they didn’t stop creating content because they were bad. They kept going and got better.

Unfortunately, most new creators don’t see it that way. They’re comparing beginner content with expert content. And instead of being bad and getting better, they realize their bad and stop altogether.

--

--

Will Bowles

Make friends. Share what you learn. Learn from others.